Sat, Nov 02, 13

A European version of DEEP PURPLE’s latest studio album, “Now What?!”, will be released at the end of November. This edition celebrates the success of the CD and the great spirit and excitement of the “Now What?!” tour that keeps bringing joy to many music lovers from country to country.

The record company and the artist would like to stress out that the double CD will be sold to retailers for a price which is lower than the usual price for any new stand-alone live release.
Fans who have purchased “Now What?!” will have the chance to buy the double pack, paying it less than a newly released live album.
Fans of vinyl will have the chance to purchase the live album as a limited heavy vinyl double LP.
The “Now What?! Live Tapes” will be available on all digital stores (bundled with “Now What?!” or available singularly) and all streaming platforms.
Details about the content of a different version of this expanded edition for the U.S. market, to be released in 2014, will be announced later in the year.
The “Now What?! Live Tapes” (European version) track listing:
01. Strange Kind Of Woman
02. Hard Loving Man
03. Vincent Price
04. Contact Lost
05. All The Time in The World
06. No One Came
07. Bodyline
08. Perfect Strangers
09. Above And Beyond
10. Lazy
11. Black Night
12. Smoke On The Water
The 12 live songs have been recorded in Rome, Milan, Gaevle and Aalborg. The live material has been carefully mixed to reflect the sounds and the emotions that came out of the speakers every night. 100% live, 100% real.
“Now What?!”, the 19th studio album from DEEP PURPLE, was released in North America on April 30 via earMUSIC, the Hamburg, Germany-based international rock label which is part of Edel Group.
After various songwriting sessions in Europe, the band recorded and mixed the album in Nashville, Tennessee with producer Bob Ezrin (KISS, PINK FLOYD, PETER GABRIEL, ALICE COOPER, KANSAS). The CD contain 11 tracks, including “Out Of Hand”, “Weirdistan”, “Uncommon Man” and “Above And Beyond”. The latter song references the band’s late keyboard player, Jon Lord, in the lyric “Souls having touched are forever entwined.”
In a recent interview with, DEEP PURPLE singer Ian Gillan stated about the songwriting process for “Now What?!”: “There were no rules. We started with nothing, except the right attitude; that’s all. Every day, it was the same routine: the guys walked in at noon and we all worked until 6 o’clock on the writing sessions. We just stopped at 3 o’clock for a cup of tea. After 6 o’clock, we would go home, have a shower, some dinner and go to bed early, even if I’m always up in the middle of the night, writing lyrics. We start at 10 o’ clock the next morning when we’re recording. But the writing is always noon until six. It starts with nothing. Ian [Paice, drummer] and Roger [Glover, bassist] would start jamming, playing for an hour non-stop and trying out some rhythms or grooves. They would stop and say, ‘No, that’s not good,’ then start something else and say, ‘Remember that. Maybe on Thursday we’ll try this again and maybe it’ll be a song.’ Everything emerged from jamming sessions.”